Sharing items

ePortfolio is a user-focused tool that empowers you to share your learning experiences and showcase your work. The sharing features of ePortfolio provide an easy way to seek feedback from your peers, mentors, and members of the broader community.

ePortfolio items are shared with other users through permissions. Separate permissions options exist for each artifact, collection, reflection, and presentation in your portfolio so you can pick and choose what content you share with others. You can give permission to see an item to individual users, sharing groups, groups of users based on course or department enrollment, or the general public through a URL (presentations only). You choose whether others can see the item, see comments, see assessments, add comments, add assessments, and/or edit the item.

  1. Permission options
  2. Sharing items with internal users
  3. Sharing presentations with external users
  4. Sending invites
  5. Inherited (cascading) permissions

Permission options

Permission Description Available for

View (V)

Allows selected users to see your portfolio item in their Explore areas.

Anyone

See comments from other users (C)

Allows selected users to see the comments other users have left on your portfolio item.

Internal users

External user with personal invite

Add comments (+C)

Allows selected users to add comments on your portfolio item.

Internal users

External user with personal invite

See assessments from others (A)

Allows selected users to see rubric assessments other users have left on your portfolio item.

Internal users

External user with personal invite

*Not available for reflections

Add assessments (+A)

Allows selected users to evaluate your portfolio item using a rubric.

Tip Make sure you add the rubric you want evaluators to use on the item's properties page.

Internal users

External user with personal invite

*Not available for reflections

Edit (E)

Allows selected users to make changes to your portfolio item.

Changes are tracked in the item’s Change Log.

Internal users

Note  To use the comments and assessments permissions you must make sure the comments and assessments check boxes are enabled on the item's properties page and that a rubric for assessing items has been attached to the item. These check boxes are selected by default, but it is possible to clear them (if you want to temporarily remove the ability to comment on or assess an item), and you can change the default setting so they are not selected on new items.

Back to top

Sharing items with internal users

You can share items with other users at your organization by selecting individual users, all users in a course or group you are enrolled in, or a previously saved sharing group.

For information on saving permission settings using a sharing group, see the Setting up sharing groups topic.

Assign permissions for a user or group of users

  1. Click Share from the context menu of the item you want to make available to others.
  2. Select when you want users to be able to see the item in the Visibility section of the Sharing Setting dialog.
  3. Click Add Users and Groups.
  4. Browse for the users or sharing groups you want to add. Use the Search For field to narrow your browsing results. Users with cascading roles must perform a search to display results.
  5. Click on users or sharing groups in the browse listing to add them to the Selected Users list. Click the Remove icon beside those users or sharing groups you want to remove from the Selected Users list.
  6. Select the permissions you want the selected users to have and click Add.

    Note  You can adjust permissions for individual users by clicking the Edit Permissions icon beside their name in the Sharing List grid. You can adjust permissions for sharing groups you've created by clicking the Edit Sharing Group link beside their name in the Sharing List grid.

  7. Click Done or Done and Send Invite. You can send an invite to specific users in the Sharing List by selecting the check boxes beside their names before you click Done and Send Invite.

Back to top

Sharing presentations with external users

You can share ePortfolio presentations with people who are not a part of your organization such as friends, parents, or potential employers.

You can share presentations with external users in two ways:

Make a presentation publicly available through a URL

Note  If you make a presentation public via URL, the system includes social media icons (Twitter, Google+, and Facebook) at the top of your presentation to enable further sharing.

  1. Click Share from the context menu of the presentation you want to make available by URL.
  2. Select Anyone with the URL below can access this item from the presentation's Sharing Settings and click Done. Share the provided URL with others.

Make a presentation externally available to specific people and assign them permissions

  1. Click Share from the context menu of the presentation you want to make available to external users.
  2. Click Add Users and Groups from a presentation's Sharing Settings.
  3. Click the Click to share the presentation with an external user link.
  4. Enter the External Email Address of the external user you want to send an invite to and click Add.
  5. Select the permissions you want the external users to have and click Add. The system automatically notifies external users of their granted permissions.
  6. Click Done.

    Note  The recipient must follow the link in the invite and set up a username and password to view the presentation. The invite expires after three days (or another amount of time set by your organization).

Back to top

Sending invites

When you send an invite to internal users you are sharing an item with, you have the opportunity to leave them a message about why you are sharing the item and what you’d like them to do with it. Depending on how the user’s preferences are set up, the message is delivered to their email, the Invites area of their portfolio, or an RSS Reader.

Send an invite

  1. Click the Done and Send Invite button when setting up permissions for an item. You can send invites to specific users in the Sharing List by selecting the check boxes beside their names before you click Done and Send Invite.
  2. Complete the invite and click Send.

Important  If you send an invite to a sharing group that includes all users at your organization or all users in a particular course or department, all of the users in the group will receive the invite. This may be bothersome to users who do not know you.

Back to top

Inherited (cascading) permissions

Items in collections and presentations

When you include an item in a collection or presentation, the item inherits permissions from the collection or presentation (permissions are cascading), with the following exceptions:

Inherited permissions do not override existing permissions on items. For example, if you give an individual the view, see comments and add comments permissions for a specific item, but only the view permission is set for a collection that contains the item, the individual is able to see and add comments to the item. This is the case regardless of whether it is accessed from the collection or outside the collection.

Items associated with a reflection

When you associate a reflection with another item, the reflection does not inherit permissions from the item, nor does the item inherit permissions from the reflection.

Sharing a reflection associated with an item, only allows users to view the name of the associated item. However, sharing an item associated with a reflection allows users to view the reflection as part of the item.

Quicklinks to ePortfolio items and eP item links

If you include a quicklink or an eP item link to an ePortfolio item in a form, reflection, artifact, or presentation, the referenced item does not inherit permissions from the item containing the link. This means that individuals viewing an item from the quicklink or eP item link must also have direct permission to view the referenced item and follow the link; otherwise, they receive an error message letting them know they do not have permission to view the item.

Similarly, if you include a quicklink in an ePortfolio item to a Learning Environment item, such as a content file, individuals can only follow the link if they have permission to view that item; otherwise they receive an error message letting them know they do not have permission to view the item.

Back to top

See also

 

Desire2Learn Help | About ePortfolio