Creating a personal room

Create personal rooms to work collaboratively on projects and assignments with your peers, or to lead presentations.

Note  Depending on your permissions, you may not be able to create personal rooms.

Create a personal room

  1. From the Room List page, click the New icon.
  2. Enter a Room Name and Description.
  3. Select a Room Option. Room options control what types of material can be used in the LiveRoom. There are two room options available:
    • Chat only: Participants can send chat messages to each other, but they cannot view or add resources.
    • Chat and canvas: Participants can send chat messages and view, create, and edit resources using the canvas tool.
  4. If you don't want other room members to view archives, clear the Make archive available check box. By default, all room members will have access to archives.
  5. Select Has Start Date and Has End Date for the room, if desired.
  6. Click Save.

Add participants/room members

Personal rooms can only be accessed by users who have been added to the Room Members list. When you add users to your personal room, the room appears on their Room List page.

  1. From the Room List page, click the Manage Members icon beside the name of the room.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • Click Add Member By Username, and type the person’s username in the text box.
    • Select Add Member By Course, choose a course, and select the users you want to add from the list.
  3.  Select access levels for your users from the following options:
    • Moderator:  Has full control over the presentation, including the ability to upload files, create new resources, answer questions from participants, and grant permissions.
    • Participant:  Able to chat, whisper, ask questions, give feedback, raise hand; no control over resources or the presentation.
    • Guest:  A passive observer who can enter a room but cannot chat or communicate in any other way.
  4. Check Is Owner to give users joint ownership of the room. Owners can edit and delete the room, add the delete room members, and view and delete the room’s archives.
  5. Click Add.

Change a participant's/room member's access levels

From the Room Members page, check the boxes beside the names of the members you want to change access levels for.

  1. Click the Change Access Level icon at the top of the members list.
  2. Update the New Access Level column.
  3. Click Change Enrollment.

Delete a participant

  1. From the Room Members page, check the boxes beside the names of the members you want to delete.
  2. Click on the Remove Users icon at the top of the members list.

 

Desire2Learn Help | About LiveRoom